Coma

our little fighter just won’t give up, my dad thinks he is waiting to say goodbye to Amanda, she is back from her vacation tomorrow morning, he might be right.  The nurse who just left confirmed for us he is in a coma, that means pain we visibly see is hopefully over, but his meds will continue to flow as he may actually still be in pain. He started with a fever last night, was 104 this morning and 103 tonight, she said the process doesn’t usually take more than 48 hours after the fever.  His blood oxygen is only at 50 percent, this is really low, not alive low, any preemie mom who has seen  their child bagged (saw Claire twice) knows this.  At this point we think just his heart and lungs are working, she said it would be  an all out miracle if he is still here this weekend, but could be any moment.  

Two things made me smile today, first Claire’s school got her on a pony, I have no idea how they did it (I expected her to protest especially after the morning we had, very tense around here), but with everything going on I just keep staring at the picture and smiling, she is thriving through it all!

 
Second, nurse Casey took out our stethoscope, some doctor or nurse along the way gave Con a real one, because his heartbeat is scary fast (we almost saw a 240 today) and there were times it was freaking us out, so we wanted to get an accurate count.  Well Claire bopped in from her afternoon with Aunt Meg and Cousin Lauren and grabbed that and the thermometer, and sprung right into action, taking Connor’s temp right under his arm, just call her nurse Claire!

  

26 thoughts on “Coma

  1. On a pony!?! Amazing.

    There are no words for where you are or will be the next few days, but I pray that you four keep holding hands and touching. Just like nurse Claire naturally does.

  2. Sending our love and prayers to you all during this difficult time. He is such a fighter and continues to touch so many hearts šŸ’™

  3. I cannot fathom the pain you must feel- my heart is broken for you and your family. I have been following your story and praying for you for months now- and today more than ever. Your strength and grace are an incredible inspiration. May the love and prayers of the countless hearts you’ve touched comfort you now and always. Sending much love and light to you all.

  4. Erin, Casey, Connor, and Claire…. So much love surrounds all of you with every person who offers continued support to your family. Our Lord is merciful and will protect Connor on his journey to his Kingdom, as he soars on eagle’s wings. It is those left behind that will celebrate a new life and grieve at the same time. I believe my father-in-law passed yesterday for a reason. A 6’4″ gentle and kind giant, will open his loving (huge) arms and reach out to hold Connor. This is a favorite verse of mine – John 16:22 – “So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you”. I share with all of you my strength and love.

  5. My gosh what an incredibly strong angel baby you have there Erin. I hope that Amada gets to see him when she gets back from her trip. How exiting that claire rode a pony!!! That’s awesome. God bless you all during this time. Love, thoughts, prayers and hugs are being sent your way again today. Love, the Ferrao’s

  6. There are no words… just prayers for strength and amazement at the love you have generated and inspired in the hearts of all of us.

  7. Sending you love and prayers. Love the picture, they both are amazing! You have a lot to be proud of. They are wonderful children.

  8. Erin, Casey, Connor and Claire………….you are all amazing. With all of this going on you always find some positive……..Claire riding the horse and then being the doctor .What a beautiful picture of her taking care of her brother. You have a wonderful family. Connor can feel all of that love. Continue to hug each other and be proud of your wonderful family. We are praying for all of you…………love you all!

  9. I have been following your story for a while now, but through the woman who is stealing your pictures. Though what she did is despicable I am actually glad that she did because if she had not I would’ve never found your actual site. Even though it was through her that I found out about connor’s journey, I have become attached to your beautiful children and I just wanted you to know that you and your family are in my thoughts daily. Im not a type who prays but I pray for connor, and I just wanted you to know that I’m constantly sending hope and strength your way.

  10. hi there, Becky has been filling me about Connor’s status. I’m thinking and praying for all of you. And, I’m very impressed by Claire’s nursing skills.

  11. May God keep all of you in his loving arms and his grace fill all of you so much there is not room for pain. What an amazing impact Connor has made in so many lives. I pray that the wonderful memories created with Connor cover each of you and give you peace.

Leave a Reply

